Advocacy Committee


The charge of the Advocacy Committee is as follows:

The American Brain Coalition (ABC) Advocacy Committee will recommend and review the ABC's legislative priorities to the ABC Board. The Advocacy Committee will communicate the legislative priorities to ABC members, as well as to policymakers and their staff. The Advocacy Committee will monitor and report back to the membership any congressional and agency activities and policy relevant to the ABC.



Mark Rasenick, PhD
ABC Secretary
Distinguished Professor of Physiology & Biophysics and Psychiatry
University of Illinois, Chicago


Matthew Rizzo, MD
Frances and Edgar Reynolds Professor and Chair
Department of Neurological Sciences
University of Nebraska Medical Center


Wade H. Berrettini, MD, PhD
Director, Center for Neurobiology & Behavior
University of Pennsylvania


Juliane Baron
Executive Director
Federation of Associations in Behavioral & Brain Sciences

Phil Cronin
Legislative Consultant
Cure Alzheimer's Fund

Joan Demetriades
Chief Strategist
One Mind Research

Diana Felner
ABC Treasurer
Vice President, Public Policy

Tourette Syndrome Association

Bobby Heagerty
Emeritus Director, Community Affairs & Education
Oregon Health & Sciences University Brain Institute

Michael Heintz
Director of Advocacy & Training
Society for Neuroscience

Patrick McCartney
ABC Program Committee Chair
Executive Director

International Essential Tremor Foundation

Brittany Meyer
Associate Director, Public Policy
Michael J. Fox Foundation

Leslie Ritter
Senior Director, Federal Government Affairs
National MS Society

Stuart Spielman
Senior Policy Adviser and Counsel
Autism Speaks

Sarah Tellock
Associate Director, Federal Affairs
Alzheimer's Association

Madhukar Trivedi, MD
Professor of Psychiatry,
Director of the Center of Depression Research and Clinical Care,
Chief of the Division of Mood Disorders,
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Laura Weidner, Esq.
Vice President, Government Relations & Advocacy
Epilepsy Foundation

Monica Weldon
President & Chief Executive Officer
Bridge the Gap - SYNGAP Education & Research Foundation

Justine Welsh, MD
Assistant Professor
Emory University School of Medicine

American Brain Coalition

P.O. Box 1549 | Maple Grove, MN 55311 | Phone: (763) 516-3583